Check Dollar(USD) to Naira Black Market Exchange Rate Today!

Interesting facts about the Book of Leviticus

book of leviticus

Get New DJ Mixes

Interesting facts about the Book of Leviticus-

Leviticus, (Latin: “of the Levites”), Hebrew Wayiqraʾ, the third book of the Latin Vulgate Bible, the name of which designates its contents as a book (or manual) primarily concerned with priests (members of the priestly tribe of Levi) and their duties. Referring to the priestly tribe of the Israelites, “Levi”.

Interesting facts about the Book of Leviticus


It is generally seen as a law book. In the chronology of the Israelites’ exodus from Egypt, the Book of Leviticus takes place in a less than 2-month period following Moses’ receiving of the Ten Commandments at Mount Sinai. It is at this point that God reveals the laws in Leviticus to Moses and the Israelites within the Mosaic covenant.

In Leviticus, God tells the Israelites and their priests, Aaron, and his sons, how to make offerings in the Tabernacle and conduct themselves while camping around the holy tent sanctuary.

It contains instructions on performing priesthood duties, such as animal sacrifice and other rituals that would help teach the children of Israel about Jesus Christ and His Atonement.

How many laws are in Leviticus?

Leviticus contains 251 laws, commandments, or rules, some of them are “positive laws.” Positive laws are laws that require action. For example, one law in Leviticus requires the Israelites to honor God.

He also gave in the book of Leviticus that: “Ye shall be holy: for I the Lord your God am holy” (Leviticus 19:2; Leviticus 11:44–45; 20:26; 21:6).

The main divisions of Leviticus are:
  • Ritual of Sacrifices (Leviticus 1:1–7:38) Instructions for the Israelites (Leviticus 1:1–5:26) Instructions for the Priests (Leviticus 6:1–7:38)
  • Ceremony of Ordination (Leviticus 8:1–10:20)
  • Laws Regarding Ritual Purity (Leviticus 11:1–16:34)
  • Holiness Laws (Leviticus 17:1–26:46)
  • Redemption of Offerings (Leviticus 27:1–34)

Also, see: Interesting facts about the Book of Exodus

How many chapters and verses contain Leviticus?

The Book of Leviticus is the third book of the Torah, it has 859 verses, 27 chapters, and 24,000 words.

Who wrote the Book of Leviticus?

Moses is the author of Leviticus. Moses and his older brother, Aaron, were both members of the tribe of Levi (see Exodus 6:16–20).

He held the authority and keys of the Melchizedek Priesthood, which “holds the right of presidency, and has power and authority over all the offices in the church in all ages of the world, to administer in spiritual things”.

Therefore, Aaron, his sons, and all others in the tribe of Levi who held the lesser priesthood functioned under Moses’s prophetic leadership.


Check Dollar (USD) To Naira Black Market Exchange Rate Today

Do you find Six9ja useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!


Join the Discussion

No one has commented yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.